Monthly Archives: January 2011

E-Mail Merge Codes – Part 2

Since our Using E-Mail Merge Codes post, we have heard from several customers that they were interested in the concept but it seemed like too much work to change their current “record” level setup. So here’s what we would recommend. Send your broadcast in 2 batches. The 1st batch to just your Primary contacts, and the 2nd batch to your slowly growing list of secondary contacts whose merge codes you have populated.

Using_E-Mail_Merge_Codes_Part2_01

Therefore, over time your broadcast will contain more and more recipients without having to change all your contacts at once.

Enjoy!

 

Keeping Users from Deleting Records

How do you keep users from deleting items in GoldMine? Though there are other levels of control, we will only cover 2 in this lesson. First is keeping users from deleting Activities created by other users while still being able to delete their own items. As a user with MASTER rights, go to Tools | User Settings…  (in Standard and Corporate that’s File | Configure | User Settings… ) highlight the user you want to restrict and click the Properties button. Once in the users Properties screen, click on the Access tab.  Remove the check-mark next to the Delete option.

Keeping_Users_from_Deleting_Records_01

Many customers have found this setting to be too restricting and would just like to keep users from Deleting entire contacts. Here’s how to do that:  As a user with MASTER rights, go to Tools | User Settings… highlight the user you want to restrict and click the Properties button. Once in the users Properties screen, click on the Menu tab. Scroll down to the Edit menu and expand the folder. Click on the push-pin next to “Delete Contact” to change the color from green to red.

As an added bonus to the Premium Edition users, it removes the all-to-powerful red X in the contact window.

Keeping_Users_from_Deleting_Records_02

 

Enjoy!!